mobile device menu
District Home Schools Calendar Staff Directory

Westside Community Schools

Westside students ‘crushing’ STEM studies

Students from both Westside Middle School and Westside High School are earning top awards and honors this month in STEM related fields.

WMS students Victoria Chin, Ariana Dykhouse and Ramya Iyer were selected by the University of Nebraska Omaha to attend UNO CodeCrush, an exclusive IT immersion experience for female students.  For four days later this month, these students will learn about the IT departments of global corporations, meet women professionals who are engaged in IT, and network with top industry professionals.  8th-9th grade students across the Midwest applied for the all-expenses paid seminar.

WHS students Emma Carlson, Samantha Wahl and Elizabeth Berry have been selected as recipients of the NCWIT (National Center for Women & Information Technology) Aspirations in Computing Award. The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing honors high school women who are active and interested in computing and technology, and encourages them to pursue their passions.  Carlson and Wahl were both named Nebraska and SW Iowa Affiliate Award Winners; Berry was recognized with a Nebraska and SW Iowa Affiliate Honorable Mention, and was also selected to be part of UNO’s CodeCrush last fall.  All three students will be recognized for their achievements at the regional award ceremony on Sunday, April 9, 2017.

Kristeen Shabram, WMS Business and Technology Teacher who has educated all six of these students, has won numerous awards in education and STEM fields.  She was named the 2016 AIM Tech Educator of the Year last fall and recognized by the Westside Board of Education for her achievements.  Click here to read more.


ELEMENTARY | Start 8:40 - Dismiss 3:30 ( Wednesdays | Dismiss 3:00 )
MIDDLE SCHOOL | Start 8:00 - Dismiss 3:15 ( Wednesdays | Dismiss 2:44 )
HIGHSCHOOL | Start 8:00 - Dismiss 3:10 ( Wednesdays | Dismiss 2:50 )